To Be One


The three degrees of Craft or Blue Lodge Freemasonry are those of:

– Entered Apprentice
– Fellow Craft
– Master Mason

The degrees represent stages of personal development. No Freemason is told that there is only one meaning to the allegories; as a Freemason works through the degrees and studies their lessons, he interprets them for himself, his personal interpretation being bounded only by the Constitution within which he works. A common symbolic structure and universal archetypes provide a means for each Freemason to come to his own answers to life’s important philosophical questions.

The first degree is that of Entered Apprentice, and the ceremony is known as Initiation, which makes one a Mason thus becoming a Brother. The second is the Fellow Craft Degree, known as Passing, while the third is called the ‘Sublime Degree’ of a Master Mason, and is known as Raising. A Master mason can then participation in almost any aspect of Masonry.

Thus, a Mason who has experienced all three ceremonies is said to have been Initiated, Passed and Raised. It is only when he becomes a Master Mason that he is enabled, if he wishes, to take office in his lodge. When these ceremonies are not being worked, the monthly lodge meeting is likely to be given over to lectures or discussions on Masonic subjects.

After a Brother receives his Third (or Master Mason’s) Degree, he may, if he so desires, become a member of any number of Masonic Organizations within the ‘Family of Freemasonary’. These steps are viewed in the image on your left.

You must be logged in to post a comment.